Once an Olympian, always an Olympian

  • 836
  • 0
  • 6
  • 54
  • 836
  • 0
  • 6
  • 54



Shiva Keshavan.OLY


OLYMPIAN (Luge) –1998, 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014, 2018
Shiva Keshavan is a 6-time Olympian and 4 time Asian Champion and has represented India internationally for 22 years.

He was the first Indian to win an International medal in Winter Sports and has set 3 continental records.
A staunch believer in Athletes rights, Shiva founded the Olympians Association of India and was elected its 1st president in 2016.  He is a member of the Athletes Commission and Ethics Committee of the Indian Olympic Association. 
In 2018 he was nominated to the Himachal Pradesh Sports Council and the ad-hoc governing committee of the Winter Games Federation of India

Viren Rasquinha.OLY


OLYMPIAN (Hockey) – 2004
Captained Indian Hockey team.
Asian Games silver medallist.
CEO, Olympic Gold Quest (OGQ)
Member, PMO Olympic Task Force

He played 180 international matches for India and won a gold medal at the Junior World Cup 2001
His contribution to Indian sport after retirement has been substantial especially through his role at OGQ, a not-for profit organization supporting the training of India’s top athletes with a mission of helping them win Olympic medals.



Dr. Malav Shroff.OLY

General Secretary

OLYMPIAN (Sailing) – 2004
(Represented India in the 49er Class sailing at the Olympics)
President of Asian Sailing Federation
Board Member of the World Olympians Association
Chair of Athletes Commission – Indian Olympic Association

Post his competitive career, he continues to serve sports in various capacities.
He was coach for the Indian sailing team at the 2008 Olympics.
He is part of the Governing Council of the Sports Authority of India
He has held many posts within the International Sailing Federation (ISAF) including President of the 49er Class Association and as a Chairman of Olympic Classes Sub-Committee.
He is a distinguished Rhodes scholar from Oxford University with a PhD in orthopaedics and sports medicine.

Adille Sumariwalla.OLY


OLYMPIAN (Athletics) – 1980
(Competing in the 100m sprint at the Olympics)
President of Athletics Federation of India (AFI)
Council Member of International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF)

He is a pathbreaker in Indian sports being the first athlete to be elected as the President of a National Sporting Federation.He has been instrumental in bringing about positive changes in the AFI.
He has coached several athletes who represented India at the Olympics
Holds an MBA from Asian Institute of Management, Manila.
Founded Interspace India Pvt. Ltd. and Professional Sports Services.


Namdev Shirgaonkar


Founder and Secretary of Modern Pentathlon Association of India
Board Member of the Indian Olympic Association

He is a sports all-rounder but found his calling in the sport of fencing where he competed at the national level. Today he is one of the most competent administrators. He started off as a coordinator for the Indian contingent at the Youth Commonwealth Games (2008) followed by stints as national delegate at World Games (2009), Commonwealth Games (2018), Asian Games (2010 & 2014) and Olympics (2012).


Ashwini Nachappa.OLY

Founding Member

OLYMPIAN (Athletics) – 1988
President of Bangalore Urban District Athletics Association.
Founder & President Clean Sports India
Founder of Ashwini Sports Foundation
Managing Trustee of Karaumbiah Academy for Learning and Sports

She dons many hats being an Olympian, social worker, educationist, sports administrator and advocate for clean sports.
She was associated with Special Olympics India for 10 years
Acts as the Advisory Board Member of Parikrama Humanity Foundation and Trustee of Bengaluru Political Action Committee (BPAC).

Hakimuddin Habibulla.OLY

Founding Member

OLYMPIAN (Swimming) – 2000
(Competed in the 200m freestyle event at the Olympics)
Co-Founder GoSports Foundation
Founder Winner Matters Consulting Pvt. Ltd.

Works tirelessly for the development of Indian Sports by working closely together with various key stakeholders in the sporting ecosystem.
He is the nominee Director of the National Skill Development Corporation in the Sector Skill Council for Sports, Physical Education, Fitness and Leisure.
He completed his Engineering degree and worked with Tata Consultancy Services Limited for 5 years.

Mary Kom.OLY

Founding Member

OLYMPIAN (Boxing) – 2012
(Olympic Bronze Medalist. She competed in the flyweight category (51kg) at the Olympics)
5-time World Champion
Member of Parliament

She is a household name after her unparalleled exploits in the sport of boxing that have broken through all barriers and shattered myths around women’s’ sport in India.
She became the first Indian women’s’ boxer to win a Gold medal at the Asian Games 2014.



Saina Nehwal.OLY

Founding Member

OLYMPIAN (Badminton) – 2008, 2012, 2016
(Olympic Bronze Medalist. First Indian to win a medal in badminton at the Olympics)
World Championship Silver Medallist
Former World No. 1
Elected as a member of the IOC Athletes Commission

Her extensive achievements in the sport of badminton make her a deserving heroine of Indian sports.


2018 © Copyright Olympians Association of India – All Rights Reserved.

Terms and conditions  Privacy Policy